Bullies, Shrimp, and Short Stories

grapes alabaster 013

The “holiday” weekend has come and gone (yay!) and while I am glad that I got out of the apartment and spent some time doing something I love, I do wish it had been a bit more lucrative. Oh well. Was it the weather? The economy? Why waste my brain power. Moving on.

That place I get the hot dogs and shrimp is called Red Hot Ranch. http://www.yelp.com/biz/red-hot-ranch-chicago#query:hot%20dogs%20north%20western

If you are ever in the area, it’s totally worth your time. Especially if it’s late at night. And if you are so tired of tacos that one more might send you into a deep irreversible depression.

Other things that cause depression: bullies. Yeah, I know, is that even something I should be complaining about as a grown person. Maybe not. I don’t think it’s fair for a few people to terrorize an entire organization to the point where they have to go out and find new jobs, especially in an economy where it’s tough enough to lay your hands on a job you hate, much less one that is decent. I found this great website : http://www.workplacebullying.org/  . It helped me gain some understanding and also helped me to see what my options are. Unfortunately in this society that amounts to not much. Awareness is the first step.

Tonight I went to bed too early. I have so much to do in the morning with my eBay hustle,  I decided to hit the hay as soon as I felt tired and hopefully get lots of shut eye and wake up bright and early Monday morning. This must have been at about 8:30 pm, because I woke up at about 11:30 pm, bright eyed and ready to go. I watched TV for awhile, tried to sleep again, and at about 2 am gave up. So I decided that maybe I want to be creative and started work on my short story.

I love to write, and I hate it at the same time. Inevitably I feel bored with myself, and whatever I am writing turns into self absorbed autobiographical drivel. Blech.

If only I could retain interest in something long enough to actually finish it.

 

What's on your mind?

