Duty Calls

bible cut outs 022

How many things do we do because we feel obligated? How many people do we force ourselves to allow into our lives because we feel like we have to?

What would life look like if we let go of the people that hold us down? What would it be like if we didn’t have to feel the anger that comes from dealing with the ultra toxic?

What if we are toxic? What if someone lets us go? Do we see what has happened and get better? Do some people only learn from true loss?

Do we have a duty to take care of our mothers and fathers even if they use and abuse us? Is it wrong to not want to spend time with them because doing so just freshens a lifetime of pain?

I think I have a duty to myself, and a responsibility for my own life. I refuse to make myself responsible for someone’s life who is not either my child or invalid. I am tired of being tapped upon like a resource instead of loved and lifted up.

Things are going to change around here, and soon.

2 thoughts on “Duty Calls

  1. I’ve asked myself the same questions from time to time. The changes that have happened around here are the way I view my relationships with people who try to bring me down. It’s not pretty, but it’s liberating. Stopped by from the A-Z challenge!

What's on your mind?

