Quitting Time

libby peekaboo glasses 024

The clock is both my best friend and worst enemy while I am at work. It tells me when I can leave, which is honestly the best part of my day. It also tells me how much longer I have to stay, which is frankly depressing. I don’t know how much longer I am willing to spend eight hours of my day, five to six days a week, glancing at this object hoping for another ten minutes past. I dislike wishing my life away.

I work in a factory. At first I liked it. I have never worked in a factory before, and to be honest I always wondered what it would be like.

I like that it is very methodical. I like that we have rules that everyone must follow, no exception. I like that there is some degree of protection for the workers, and that no one has to put up with anyone who behaves too aggressively or is a bully just because they are “needed”… which was what my last job required.

I don’t like that there is a class system in place, with workers from the temp agency at the bottom, actual company employees in the middle, and members of the union at the top. I don’t like that management finds time to gossip about other employees. I don’t like that some people get away with taking long breaks and lunches and some people get in trouble for it. I don’t like that I make minimum wage for working so hard. I don’t like minimum wage, period.

Thinking about that, and everything else that has been going on in our country, I feel a revolution coming. I hope it’s coming. People are tired of being walked on. I am tired of watching rights that I taught were basic and essential to our way of living be stripped from us quietly in the name of protecting us from vague threats and even ourselves.

I am tired. Tired tired tired tired tired tired tired tired tired tired tired tired tired f-ing TIRED of this crap. I will not take this anymore.

We have rights. And it’s time that we defend them. We must stop being corn fed zombified factory workers who are conditioned to do shit work for shit pay that allows us to buy shit food that will only render us too fat, lazy, and unhealthy to stand up or even care when their civil liberties are robbed in the middle of the nights by crooks who use unfortunate events as alibis.

I’m finding a better job. I’m getting a better life. And I’m getting involved. It starts now.

What's on your mind?

