Poverty Food Recipies

carrot salad 001

I am paying three months rent this month (augh!): one month at my current residence, one month to my new residence so I can GTFO of here, and another month to them in deposit. To say the least, that blows. So, I have NO money for food. That’s okay, I’m trying to lose weight anyway.

Yesterday for lunch I had an old favorite, ramen noodles soup with egg and corn. All you do is drop the egg into the soup toward the end of the cooking time, and mix in a can of corn. You can put pretty much anything you want in it, I prefer to add hot sauce to mine. This is a very cost effective and satisfying dish.

Today for lunch it came down to making something from the food that is left in the house. By “the food that is left” I mean the stuff that no one else seems to want to eat.

Poverty Carrot Salad

Four Shredded Carrots

Half a Small Package of Wasabi Almonds (Found in the car…), crushed

1/4 Cup of Canned Pineapple, (found in the fridge from last week I think?) diced

1 Tablespoon of Ranch (or anything you can find, sour cream or other kinds of dressing would work…)

Splash of Apple Cider Vinegar

Pepper to Taste

This was actually very tasty! It was something different, healthy, and I didn’t spend a dime on it. I wonder what I will come up with for dinner…

What's on your mind?

